News Alert


Dennis L. JonesD.C.

Speaker pro tempore (1998 - 2000)

District: 54 -- Republican

Part of Pinellas

Biographical Information

City of Residence:  Treasure Island
Occupation:  Chiropractic Physician
Child(ren):  Bobby, Rod and Jill
Education:  University of Florida; Lincoln Chiropractic College, D.C., 1963; St. Petersburg Junior College, Sigma Phi Kappa
Born:  April 5, 1941, Erie, PA
History:  Aaron Arnold, great-great-grandfather, Circuit Judge of Kane County, Pennsylvania, 1840s
Moved to Florida:  1950
Religious Affiliation:  Methodist
Recreational Interest:  sailing, softball, snow skiing, fishing, chess, reading

Legislative Service

Elected to the House in 1978, reelected subsequently
House Republican Policy Committee
House Republican Leadership
Minority Floor Whip 1984-1986
Pinellas County Legislative Delegation Vice Chair 1984-1985, Chair 1985-1987
House Republican Campaign Committee Chair 1985-1990
Republican Caucus Chair 1990-1994
Dean of the House Republican Caucus

Other Public Services

Joint Executive and Legislative Commission on Postsecondary Education 1979
Florida Chiropractic Advisory Council 1977-1979


Pinellas County Chiropractic Society President 1965-1966
Florida Chiropractic Association President 1971-1972
St. Petersburg Young Republican Club President 1974
St. Petersburg Republican Club President 1977-1978
Fellow of International Chiropractic Colleges
Greater Seminole Area, Greater Largo Area, and Gulf Beaches of Tampa Bay Chamber of Commerce
Republican Club of Greater Largo
Pinellas County Republican Executive Committee
Republican Club of Greater Seminole
Ivory Club
Florida Republican Part


Phi Theta Kappa Honorary Member
Florida Association of Community Colleges Legislative Service Award 1981
Florida Alcohol and Drug Abuse Association Legislative Service Award 1981
Florida Chiropractic Association Chiropractor of the Year 1982
St. Petersburg Chamber of Commerce Small Business Council First Annual Champion of Small Business Award 1984
Florida Chiropractic Association D. I. Rainey Legislative Award 1984, 1988, and 1996
Florida Health Care Association Legislator of the Year 1984 and 1991
Republican Club of Greater Seminole Outstanding Elected Official 1984 and 1991
FTP-NEA Friend of Education Award 1986
Gulf Beaches Public Library Appreciation Award 1988
Marine Industries Association of Florida Friend of Florida Boating Award 1988
Pinellas Emergency Mental Health Services PACE Award 1988
National Federation of Independent Business Guardian of Small Business Award 1988
Boley Inc. Legislative Humanitarian Award 1988
Seminole Evening Sertoma Club Service to Mankind Award 1989
Pinellas Marine Institute Inc. Contribution to the Educational and Scientific Programs of PMI Award 1989
Pinellas County Council of Firefighters First Annual Outstanding Legislator Award 1990
Florida Podiatric Medical Association Legislator of the Year 1991
South Pinellas Community Council Appreciation for Service Award 1992
Florida Restaurant Association Legislative Leadership Award 1992
Florida Literary Coalition Distinguished Service Award 1993
State Long-Term Care Ombudsman Council Award 1994
The Jeffery Tackett Foundation Award of Honor 1995
Pinellas County Police Benevolent Association Legislator of the Year 1995
Coalition of Community Association Managers Organization Legislator of the Year 1996
Florida Chiropractic Society Legislator of the Year 1996
Florida Pediatric Society and Florida Chapter of the American Academy of Pediatrics Support of Children's Health and Safety Issues Award 1996
Florida Medical Association Award of Appreciation for Service in Health Care 1996
Barrier Islands Governmenta